Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Suspension bridge over the River Ness
EXTERNAL ID
GB1796_1999_116_368
PLACENAME
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona
PERIOD
1890s; 1900s
SOURCE
Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)
ASSET ID
11352
KEYWORDS
Ness Suspension Bridge
Inverness
battlemented archway
Suspension bridge over the River Ness

The old Ness Suspension Bridge opened in 1855 and had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, on the right of the photograph, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.

Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag controlled the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded.

The bridge lasted until 1959 and was replaced by Sir Murdoch MacDonald and Partners' concrete span that we see today.


This image can be purchased.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email the
Highland Photographic Archive quoting the External ID.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Suspension bridge over the River Ness

INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona

1890s; 1900s

Ness Suspension Bridge; Inverness; battlemented archway

Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)

Joseph Cook Collection

The old Ness Suspension Bridge opened in 1855 and had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, on the right of the photograph, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.<br /> <br /> Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag controlled the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. <br /> <br /> The bridge lasted until 1959 and was replaced by Sir Murdoch MacDonald and Partners' concrete span that we see today. <br /> <br /> <br /> This image can be purchased.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email the<br /> <a href="mailto: photographic.archive@highlifehighland.com">Highland Photographic Archive</a> quoting the External ID.