Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge
EXTERNAL ID
GB1796_1999_116_X_24
PLACENAME
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona
SOURCE
Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)
ASSET ID
11516
KEYWORDS
Ness Suspension Bridge
Inverness
battlemented archway
castles
Inverness Castle
Jacobite Army
William Burn of Edinburgh
Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge

Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge.

The present castle buildings were built between 1833-1836, and were designed by William Burn of Edinburgh. However, the site has been occupied by various different forts since the 1100s. The medieval castle which was present on the site in 1745, was destroyed by the Jacobite Army. It was later demolished.

The old Ness Suspension Bridge opened in 1855 and had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, on the left of the photograph, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.

Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag could be seen controlling the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. The onset of World War II caused the removal of the man with the red flag and the bridge was eventually closed in 1959


This image can be purchased.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email the
Highland Photographic Archive quoting the External ID.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge

INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona

Ness Suspension Bridge; Inverness; battlemented archway; castles; Inverness Castle; Jacobite Army; William Burn of Edinburgh

Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)

Joseph Cook Collection

Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge. <br /> <br /> The present castle buildings were built between 1833-1836, and were designed by William Burn of Edinburgh. However, the site has been occupied by various different forts since the 1100s. The medieval castle which was present on the site in 1745, was destroyed by the Jacobite Army. It was later demolished.<br /> <br /> The old Ness Suspension Bridge opened in 1855 and had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, on the left of the photograph, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.<br /> <br /> Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag could be seen controlling the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. The onset of World War II caused the removal of the man with the red flag and the bridge was eventually closed in 1959 <br /> <br /> <br /> This image can be purchased.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email the<br /> <a href="mailto: photographic.archive@highlifehighland.com">Highland Photographic Archive</a> quoting the External ID.