Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
The Lighthouse, Kyleakin, Skye
EXTERNAL ID
HCD_CARD_057
PLACENAME
Kyleakin
DISTRICT
Skye
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Strath
PERIOD
1950s
SOURCE
Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre
ASSET ID
12880
KEYWORDS
lighthouse
Gavin Maxwell
Eilean Bàn
eider ducks
The Lighthouse, Kyleakin, Skye

This lightly tinted postcard shows the view from Kyleakin of the lighthouse and buildings on Eilean Bàn. The D & T Stevenson designed 70 ft high lighthouse was built in 1857 and in use until the 1960s. In 1965, the single storey keeper's cottage was purchased and extensively renovated by Gavin Maxwell, celebrated naturalist and author of Ring of Bright Water. He made plans to farm an existing eider duck colony and turn it into a commercial business and also to create a wildlife sanctuary, but his death in 1969 brought all plans to an end. In 2000, the Eilean Bàn Trust, purchased the island and returned the buildings to Maxwell's design with the main room holding the Gavin Maxwell Museum. The Bright Water Centre in Kyleakin operates boat tours to the island to see the buildings and to experience the wildlife through the nature trails and wildlife hide.

The postcard view is now much different. The Skye Bridge, opened in 1995, now spans the waterway and rises above Eilean Bàn from the concrete stanchions on the island. In the background of the postcard, looking northeast is the distinctive 'volcanic' top of Dun Caan (443m) on the Island of Raasay.

This postcard was one of a series produced and sold by D Macpherson who ran a general merchants and post office in Kyleakin.


This image may be available to purchase.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email
Skye and Lochalsh Archives

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

The Lighthouse, Kyleakin, Skye

INVERNESS: Strath

1950s

lighthouse; Gavin Maxwell; Eilean Bàn; eider ducks

Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre

Dualchas Postcards

This lightly tinted postcard shows the view from Kyleakin of the lighthouse and buildings on Eilean Bàn. The D & T Stevenson designed 70 ft high lighthouse was built in 1857 and in use until the 1960s. In 1965, the single storey keeper's cottage was purchased and extensively renovated by Gavin Maxwell, celebrated naturalist and author of Ring of Bright Water. He made plans to farm an existing eider duck colony and turn it into a commercial business and also to create a wildlife sanctuary, but his death in 1969 brought all plans to an end. In 2000, the Eilean Bàn Trust, purchased the island and returned the buildings to Maxwell's design with the main room holding the Gavin Maxwell Museum. The Bright Water Centre in Kyleakin operates boat tours to the island to see the buildings and to experience the wildlife through the nature trails and wildlife hide.<br /> <br /> The postcard view is now much different. The Skye Bridge, opened in 1995, now spans the waterway and rises above Eilean Bàn from the concrete stanchions on the island. In the background of the postcard, looking northeast is the distinctive 'volcanic' top of Dun Caan (443m) on the Island of Raasay.<br /> <br /> This postcard was one of a series produced and sold by D Macpherson who ran a general merchants and post office in Kyleakin. <br /> <br /> <br /> This image may be available to purchase.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email<br /> <a href= "mailto: skyeandlochalsh.archives@highlifehighland.com" >Skye and Lochalsh Archives</a><br />