Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
The Lodge, Portree
EXTERNAL ID
HCD_CARD_198
PLACENAME
Portree
DISTRICT
Skye
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Portree
PERIOD
1950s
SOURCE
Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre
ASSET ID
12985
KEYWORDS
Macdonald
sale brochure
land sale
Cuillin Hills
hotel
The Lodge, Portree

The Lodge, formerly Armadale Lodge, and now the Cuillin Hills Hotel was built in 1882/1883 by the Macdonalds as a shooting lodge/dower house. In the early 20th century as the Castle at Armadale continued to deteriorate, the Lodge was used more often as residence for some of the Macdonald family.

It was part of the 'famous Macdonald Estates' as the sale brochure of 1950 noted. At this time the two-storey Lodge was sold with cottages, gardens, garages and immediate policies which amounted to approximately 13 acres. The sale brochure stated it was vacant at the time of sale, and was a 'dignified and lovely house suitable for a shooting lodge, residence or hotel'.

It was owned in the 1950s by James Pringle Ltd, Holm Mills of Inverness and used a workers residence. It was sold in the mid-1960s, converted to a hotel, and has operated as the Cuillin Hills Hotel since then. The situation of the buildings on the northern side of Portree Bay provides spectacular views. From the entrance and established gardens around the hotel, visitors can look out over Portree Bay, the Sound of Raasay and to the Cuillin Hill range, making it an enviable setting for a hotel.


This image may be available to purchase.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email
Skye and Lochalsh Archives

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

The Lodge, Portree

INVERNESS: Portree

1950s

Macdonald; sale brochure; land sale; Cuillin Hills; hotel

Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre

Dualchas Postcards

The Lodge, formerly Armadale Lodge, and now the Cuillin Hills Hotel was built in 1882/1883 by the Macdonalds as a shooting lodge/dower house. In the early 20th century as the Castle at Armadale continued to deteriorate, the Lodge was used more often as residence for some of the Macdonald family.<br /> <br /> It was part of the 'famous Macdonald Estates' as the sale brochure of 1950 noted. At this time the two-storey Lodge was sold with cottages, gardens, garages and immediate policies which amounted to approximately 13 acres. The sale brochure stated it was vacant at the time of sale, and was a 'dignified and lovely house suitable for a shooting lodge, residence or hotel'.<br /> <br /> It was owned in the 1950s by James Pringle Ltd, Holm Mills of Inverness and used a workers residence. It was sold in the mid-1960s, converted to a hotel, and has operated as the Cuillin Hills Hotel since then. The situation of the buildings on the northern side of Portree Bay provides spectacular views. From the entrance and established gardens around the hotel, visitors can look out over Portree Bay, the Sound of Raasay and to the Cuillin Hill range, making it an enviable setting for a hotel. <br /> <br /> <br /> This image may be available to purchase.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email<br /> <a href= "mailto: skyeandlochalsh.archives@highlifehighland.com" >Skye and Lochalsh Archives</a><br />