Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Somerled Square, Portree
EXTERNAL ID
HCD_CARD_205
PLACENAME
Portree
DISTRICT
Skye
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Portree
PERIOD
1920s
SOURCE
Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre
ASSET ID
12992
KEYWORDS
village
churches
Scottish Episcopalian
bank
parsonage
Somerled Square, Portree

This photograph shows the congregation of the Free Presbyterian Church leaving the church on the corner of Somerled Square in Portree at the end of a service.

The church, hidden here behind what is now the Isles Hotel, was built in 1895 and boasts a distinctive short octagonal spire.

In the centre of the photograph, but in the background, is the Episcopal Church of St Columba. The foundation stone of this church was laid by Bishop Chinnery-Haldane in 1884 and the church consecrated in October 1891. The Rectory, which is linked to the Church, was added in 1891 and the stained glass window to the memory of Flora Macdonald by E Ingram was dedicated in 1896.

As early as 1892 it is recorded that repairs had to be carried out on the Tower. It provided a constant list of repairs requiring attention and expense, and was finally taken down in 1953.

The prominent building on the left of the photograph is the Bank of Scotland, built in 1873 by Matthews and Lawrie.


This image may be available to purchase.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email
Skye and Lochalsh Archives

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Somerled Square, Portree

INVERNESS: Portree

1920s

village; churches; Scottish Episcopalian; bank; parsonage

Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre

Dualchas Postcards

This photograph shows the congregation of the Free Presbyterian Church leaving the church on the corner of Somerled Square in Portree at the end of a service. <br /> <br /> The church, hidden here behind what is now the Isles Hotel, was built in 1895 and boasts a distinctive short octagonal spire. <br /> <br /> In the centre of the photograph, but in the background, is the Episcopal Church of St Columba. The foundation stone of this church was laid by Bishop Chinnery-Haldane in 1884 and the church consecrated in October 1891. The Rectory, which is linked to the Church, was added in 1891 and the stained glass window to the memory of Flora Macdonald by E Ingram was dedicated in 1896. <br /> <br /> As early as 1892 it is recorded that repairs had to be carried out on the Tower. It provided a constant list of repairs requiring attention and expense, and was finally taken down in 1953. <br /> <br /> The prominent building on the left of the photograph is the Bank of Scotland, built in 1873 by Matthews and Lawrie. <br /> <br /> <br /> This image may be available to purchase.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email<br /> <a href= "mailto: skyeandlochalsh.archives@highlifehighland.com" >Skye and Lochalsh Archives</a><br />