Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Aird Glen, Sound of Sleat, Isle of Skye
EXTERNAL ID
HCD_CARD_280
PLACENAME
Aird of Sleat
DISTRICT
Skye
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Sleat
SOURCE
Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre
ASSET ID
13056
KEYWORDS
bridges
paths
Point of Sleat Lighthouse
Aird Glen, Sound of Sleat, Isle of Skye

The walk from the old church at Aird of Sleat to Point of Sleat, the most southerly tip of Skye, is about four kilometres. The wooden bridge pictured is one of two which crosses the burn draining from Loch Aruisg. Surrounded by plentiful birdlife and native flora, the path leads to the ruins of croft houses dating from the 1850s near Acairseid an Rubha, with the calm, sandy bay of Camus Daraich and the lighthouse at Point of Sleat additional attractions. The original lighthouse was built in 1934 but replaced in 2003 with a concrete structure supporting a solar powered light.

On a clear day the views are stunning in every direction, with Loch Nevis, Morar and Moidart to the east and southeast, the Cuillin to the northwest, and the islands of Rum and Eigg to the west and southwest.


This image may be available to purchase.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email
Skye and Lochalsh Archives

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Aird Glen, Sound of Sleat, Isle of Skye

INVERNESS: Sleat

bridges; paths; Point of Sleat Lighthouse

Skye and Lochalsh Archive Centre

Dualchas Postcards

The walk from the old church at Aird of Sleat to Point of Sleat, the most southerly tip of Skye, is about four kilometres. The wooden bridge pictured is one of two which crosses the burn draining from Loch Aruisg. Surrounded by plentiful birdlife and native flora, the path leads to the ruins of croft houses dating from the 1850s near Acairseid an Rubha, with the calm, sandy bay of Camus Daraich and the lighthouse at Point of Sleat additional attractions. The original lighthouse was built in 1934 but replaced in 2003 with a concrete structure supporting a solar powered light.<br /> <br /> On a clear day the views are stunning in every direction, with Loch Nevis, Morar and Moidart to the east and southeast, the Cuillin to the northwest, and the islands of Rum and Eigg to the west and southwest. <br /> <br /> <br /> This image may be available to purchase.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email<br /> <a href= "mailto: skyeandlochalsh.archives@highlifehighland.com" >Skye and Lochalsh Archives</a><br />