Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Lews Castle, Stornoway
EXTERNAL ID
HC_PLANNING_01_029_0753
PLACENAME
Stornoway
DISTRICT
Lewis
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
ROSS: Stornoway
PERIOD
1970s
CREATOR
T. Kenneth MacKenzie
SOURCE
The Highland Council Planning Department
ASSET ID
13686
KEYWORDS
towns
islands
education
buildings
castles
houses
Lews Castle, Stornoway

Lews Castle, in Stornoway on the Isle of Lewis, was built in 1848 for Sir James Matheson, by the architect Charles Wilson of Glasgow. The single-storey conservatory was added in about 1875. The grounds of the house consisted of a square mile of deciduous woodland unique in the Outer Isles.

In 1918 the castle and estate were bought by Lord Leverhulme who then gifted the castle to the parish of Stornoway in 1923. During World War Two the castle was used as accommodation for the air and ground crew of 700 Naval Air Squadron and in the 1950s it was used as accommodation for student for Lews Castle College. The building is now owned by Comhairle nan Eilean Siar and is a grade A listed building.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Lews Castle, Stornoway

ROSS: Stornoway

1970s

towns; islands; education; buildings; castles; houses

The Highland Council Planning Department

The Highland Council Planning Dept

Lews Castle, in Stornoway on the Isle of Lewis, was built in 1848 for Sir James Matheson, by the architect Charles Wilson of Glasgow. The single-storey conservatory was added in about 1875. The grounds of the house consisted of a square mile of deciduous woodland unique in the Outer Isles.<br /> <br /> In 1918 the castle and estate were bought by Lord Leverhulme who then gifted the castle to the parish of Stornoway in 1923. During World War Two the castle was used as accommodation for the air and ground crew of 700 Naval Air Squadron and in the 1950s it was used as accommodation for student for Lews Castle College. The building is now owned by Comhairle nan Eilean Siar and is a grade A listed building.