Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Innes Street, Plockton
EXTERNAL ID
HC_PLANNING_01_086_1339
PLACENAME
Plockton
DISTRICT
South West Ross
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
ROSS: Lochalsh
PERIOD
1970s
CREATOR
T. Kenneth MacKenzie
SOURCE
The Highland Council Planning Department
ASSET ID
13849
KEYWORDS
village
houses
Innes Street, Plockton

Originally a planned village laid out for the Earl of Seaforth in 1794, Plockton was developed by William Cumming for the next landowner, Sir Hugh Innes, in 1801 to take advantage of the sheltered location off Loch Carron and the thriving herring industry. It also provided homes for tenants cleared from elsewhere on the Lochalsh Estate. The Estate was bought by Sir Alexander Matheson in the 1850s, who also built Duncraig Castle overlooking the bay. Innes Street is the main road into the village from Kyle of Lochalsh and where most of the public buildings such as the Primary School are located. The manse for the United Free Church in Plockton, locally referred to as the West Manse, can be seen on the left further up the road. It was built c1910 and is now a hotel. Innes Street leads down to the harbour and the picturesque setting of the rest of the village on the shores of Loch Carron.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Innes Street, Plockton

ROSS: Lochalsh

1970s

village; houses

The Highland Council Planning Department

The Highland Council Planning Dept

Originally a planned village laid out for the Earl of Seaforth in 1794, Plockton was developed by William Cumming for the next landowner, Sir Hugh Innes, in 1801 to take advantage of the sheltered location off Loch Carron and the thriving herring industry. It also provided homes for tenants cleared from elsewhere on the Lochalsh Estate. The Estate was bought by Sir Alexander Matheson in the 1850s, who also built Duncraig Castle overlooking the bay. Innes Street is the main road into the village from Kyle of Lochalsh and where most of the public buildings such as the Primary School are located. The manse for the United Free Church in Plockton, locally referred to as the West Manse, can be seen on the left further up the road. It was built c1910 and is now a hotel. Innes Street leads down to the harbour and the picturesque setting of the rest of the village on the shores of Loch Carron.