Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Duncraig Halt being refurbished, 1997
EXTERNAL ID
NRM_NBNW_KL_DS080558
PLACENAME
Duncraig
DISTRICT
South West Ross
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
ROSS: Lochalsh
DATE OF IMAGE
October 1997
PERIOD
1990s
CREATOR
Lynn Patrick
SOURCE
National Railway Museum, York
ASSET ID
20044
KEYWORDS
railway
railways
Duncraig Halt being refurbished, 1997

The small halt of Duncraig, near Plockton, undergoing refurbishment in October 1997.



Some landowners only agreed to the railway crossing their land if private halts were built for their use. The station at Duncraig is one of these small halts on the Kyle line and features a unique wooden octagonal waiting room. Duncraig Halt, as it was known, served Duncraig Castle, was built in 1866 by Sir Alexander Matheson and designed by Alexander Ross. Matheson had bought the Lochalsh Estate in 1851. It was owned by Sir Daniel and Lady Hamilton when it was requisitioned in 1939 for use as a Royal Naval Hospital for the duration of the war. After Sir Daniel Hamilton's death, Lady Hamilton gifted the castle and contents to the education authority for use as a domestic science college for girls. The college operated until 1989. The castle then lay empty for several years before being sold to a private owner in 2003. The halt was opened to the public on 23 May 1949 and was renamed as Duncraig by British Railways in September 1962.



Background

Over one hundred years ago, two of the most picturesque railways in the world, the Kyle line and the Far North line, were built. Linking them to the rest of the UK rail network is the Highland main line. From 1997 to 2003 the National Railway Museum photographed these three lines, and from the images three exhibitions were created - 'Connection to the Kyle', 'By Firth and Flow' and 'The Highland Link'. The exhibitions were hosted on the Scottish Archive Network (SCAN) under the digital exhibition 'North by Northwest' which officially launched the National Archive of Scotland site on 5 June 2001 in Inverness. The collaboration with SCAN lasted until 2009 when 'North by Northwest' was transferred to the Am Baile website.



'North by Northwest' documents living history and records a snapshot of time in the lives of the people and the lines during the closing years of the twentieth century and the emergence of the twenty-first century. The exhibitions celebrated the impact of the Highland railways on the people, landscape and economy of the Scottish Highlands.



We acknowledge support from the following sponsors who funded the photographic survey of the Highland main line, the Kyle and the Far North lines by the National Railway Museum photographers between 1997 and 2003:



Railtrack, Railtrack-Scotland, ScotRail, EWS, Porterbrook, First Engineering, The Highland Rail Network Development Partnership, The Highland Council, Ross & Cromarty Enterprise, Caithness & Sutherland Enterprise, Safeways, Friends of the National Railway Museum, Perth & Kinross Council, and the Highland Railway Society.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Duncraig Halt being refurbished, 1997

ROSS: Lochalsh

1990s

railway; railways

National Railway Museum, York

North by Northwest - The Kyle Line

The small halt of Duncraig, near Plockton, undergoing refurbishment in October 1997.<br /><br /> <br /><br /> Some landowners only agreed to the railway crossing their land if private halts were built for their use. The station at Duncraig is one of these small halts on the Kyle line and features a unique wooden octagonal waiting room. Duncraig Halt, as it was known, served Duncraig Castle, was built in 1866 by Sir Alexander Matheson and designed by Alexander Ross. Matheson had bought the Lochalsh Estate in 1851. It was owned by Sir Daniel and Lady Hamilton when it was requisitioned in 1939 for use as a Royal Naval Hospital for the duration of the war. After Sir Daniel Hamilton's death, Lady Hamilton gifted the castle and contents to the education authority for use as a domestic science college for girls. The college operated until 1989. The castle then lay empty for several years before being sold to a private owner in 2003. The halt was opened to the public on 23 May 1949 and was renamed as Duncraig by British Railways in September 1962.<br /><br /> <br /><br /> Background<br /><br /> Over one hundred years ago, two of the most picturesque railways in the world, the Kyle line and the Far North line, were built. Linking them to the rest of the UK rail network is the Highland main line. From 1997 to 2003 the National Railway Museum photographed these three lines, and from the images three exhibitions were created - 'Connection to the Kyle', 'By Firth and Flow' and 'The Highland Link'. The exhibitions were hosted on the Scottish Archive Network (SCAN) under the digital exhibition 'North by Northwest' which officially launched the National Archive of Scotland site on 5 June 2001 in Inverness. The collaboration with SCAN lasted until 2009 when 'North by Northwest' was transferred to the Am Baile website.<br /><br /> <br /><br /> 'North by Northwest' documents living history and records a snapshot of time in the lives of the people and the lines during the closing years of the twentieth century and the emergence of the twenty-first century. The exhibitions celebrated the impact of the Highland railways on the people, landscape and economy of the Scottish Highlands.<br /><br /> <br /><br /> We acknowledge support from the following sponsors who funded the photographic survey of the Highland main line, the Kyle and the Far North lines by the National Railway Museum photographers between 1997 and 2003:<br /><br /> <br /><br /> Railtrack, Railtrack-Scotland, ScotRail, EWS, Porterbrook, First Engineering, The Highland Rail Network Development Partnership, The Highland Council, Ross & Cromarty Enterprise, Caithness & Sutherland Enterprise, Safeways, Friends of the National Railway Museum, Perth & Kinross Council, and the Highland Railway Society.