Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
View of the west bank of the River Ness
EXTERNAL ID
PAW23240A
PLACENAME
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona
DATE OF IMAGE
1958
PERIOD
1950s
CREATOR
David Whyte Studio
SOURCE
Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)
ASSET ID
21203
KEYWORDS
River ness
restaurants
cafes
Bellfield Park
Ness Islands
Ness Bridge
View of the west bank of the River Ness

A view of the west bank of the River Ness, taken from the east end of the old Ness Bridge.

The bridge opened in 1855 and had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.The bridge was closed in 1959.

The sign to the left of the bridge points the way to Bellfield Park and the Ness Islands.

Across the River Ness can be seen the Columba Hotel (far left) and next to it, the Grosvenor Hotel. The Ness Cafe can also be seen and the restaurant on the corner is called The Rendezvous


This image can be purchased.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email the
Highland Photographic Archive quoting the External ID.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

View of the west bank of the River Ness

INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona

1950s

River ness; restaurants; cafes; Bellfield Park; Ness Islands; Ness Bridge

Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)

David Whyte Collection, Highland Photographic Archive

A view of the west bank of the River Ness, taken from the east end of the old Ness Bridge.<br /> <br /> The bridge opened in 1855 and had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.The bridge was closed in 1959.<br /> <br /> The sign to the left of the bridge points the way to Bellfield Park and the Ness Islands.<br /> <br /> Across the River Ness can be seen the Columba Hotel (far left) and next to it, the Grosvenor Hotel. The Ness Cafe can also be seen and the restaurant on the corner is called The Rendezvous <br /> <br /> <br /> This image can be purchased.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email the<br /> <a href="mailto: photographic.archive@highlifehighland.com">Highland Photographic Archive</a> quoting the External ID.