Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge
EXTERNAL ID
PAW23240D
PLACENAME
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona
DATE OF IMAGE
1958
PERIOD
1950s
CREATOR
David Whyte Studio
SOURCE
Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)
ASSET ID
21206
KEYWORDS
Inverness Castle
River Ness
Ness Bridge
castles
Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge

A view of Inverness Castle, taken from the east bank of the River Ness.

The present sandstone buildings were erected in 1833-36 to a plan by William Burn of Edinburgh but the site has been occupied by various fortified structures since as far back as the 1100s. Today the castle serves as an administrative centre and courthouse.

On the left of the photograph is the old Ness Bridge, opened in 1855 and measuring a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected. The bridge was closed in 1959. On the right of the photograph is the temporary bridge constructed for traffic while the new Ness Bridge was being built


This image can be purchased.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email the
Highland Photographic Archive quoting the External ID.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Inverness Castle and the old Ness Bridge

INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona

1950s

Inverness Castle; River Ness; Ness Bridge; castles

Highland Photographic Archive (IMAG)

David Whyte Collection, Highland Photographic Archive

A view of Inverness Castle, taken from the east bank of the River Ness.<br /> <br /> The present sandstone buildings were erected in 1833-36 to a plan by William Burn of Edinburgh but the site has been occupied by various fortified structures since as far back as the 1100s. Today the castle serves as an administrative centre and courthouse.<br /> <br /> On the left of the photograph is the old Ness Bridge, opened in 1855 and measuring a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected. The bridge was closed in 1959. On the right of the photograph is the temporary bridge constructed for traffic while the new Ness Bridge was being built <br /> <br /> <br /> This image can be purchased.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email the<br /> <a href="mailto: photographic.archive@highlifehighland.com">Highland Photographic Archive</a> quoting the External ID.