Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
The White Bridge Inn
EXTERNAL ID
PC_JACKWILKINSON_002
PLACENAME
Foyers
DISTRICT
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Boleskine and Abertarff
SOURCE
Jack Wilkinson
ASSET ID
28830
KEYWORDS
hotel
accommodation
bicycle
bicycles
dress
The White Bridge Inn

A photograph from the collection of Jack Wilkinson, probably taken in the 1890s. The annotation underneath reads, 'White Bridge Inn, S.E. side of Caledonian Canal'.

The White Bridge Inn stood near the Fall of Foyers, on the southern side of Loch Ness. The Inn was mentioned in 'Sylvan's Pictorial Handbook to the Scenery of the Caledonian Canal', published in 1848. The author writes, '...we arrive at the picturesque stone bridge which crosses the Foyers water. The stream here forms a small cascade, and proceeds winding along on the left of the road, till it reaches the first leap of the celebrated Fall of Foyers. We have now arrived at the little White-bridge Inn, anxiously looked for, for some time. After refreshing ourselves with the very poor fare to be obtained - being nothing but dry oatcake and burning whiskey - we proceed on our journey.'

The Caledonian Canal runs between Inverness on the east coast and Corpach, near Fort William, on the west. It opened in 1822 but wasn't fully finished until 1847.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

The White Bridge Inn

INVERNESS: Boleskine and Abertarff

hotel; accommodation; bicycle; bicycles; dress

Jack Wilkinson

A photograph from the collection of Jack Wilkinson, probably taken in the 1890s. The annotation underneath reads, 'White Bridge Inn, S.E. side of Caledonian Canal'. <br /> <br /> The White Bridge Inn stood near the Fall of Foyers, on the southern side of Loch Ness. The Inn was mentioned in 'Sylvan's Pictorial Handbook to the Scenery of the Caledonian Canal', published in 1848. The author writes, '...we arrive at the picturesque stone bridge which crosses the Foyers water. The stream here forms a small cascade, and proceeds winding along on the left of the road, till it reaches the first leap of the celebrated Fall of Foyers. We have now arrived at the little White-bridge Inn, anxiously looked for, for some time. After refreshing ourselves with the very poor fare to be obtained - being nothing but dry oatcake and burning whiskey - we proceed on our journey.'<br /> <br /> The Caledonian Canal runs between Inverness on the east coast and Corpach, near Fort William, on the west. It opened in 1822 but wasn't fully finished until 1847.