Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Ness Suspension Bridge, Inverness
EXTERNAL ID
PC_JACKWILKINSON_004
PLACENAME
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona
SOURCE
Jack Wilkinson
ASSET ID
28832
KEYWORDS
engineering
architecture
building
buildings
Ness Suspension Bridge, Inverness

A photograph from the collection of Jack Wilkinson, probably taken in the 1890s. The annotation underneath reads, 'Suspension Bridge across the Ness'.

The Ness Suspension Bridge was built around 1855, and replaced a late-17th century stone bridge that had been destroyed by flooding.

This photograph shows the battlemented archway at the east end of the bridge, built to provide a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.

Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag could be seen controlling the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. The onset of World War II caused the removal of the man with the red flag and the bridge was eventually closed in 1959.

In 1961 a four-lane concrete bridge was built to replace the suspension bridge, which is still in use today.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Ness Suspension Bridge, Inverness

INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona

engineering; architecture; building; buildings

Jack Wilkinson

A photograph from the collection of Jack Wilkinson, probably taken in the 1890s. The annotation underneath reads, 'Suspension Bridge across the Ness'.<br /> <br /> The Ness Suspension Bridge was built around 1855, and replaced a late-17th century stone bridge that had been destroyed by flooding.<br /> <br /> This photograph shows the battlemented archway at the east end of the bridge, built to provide a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.<br /> <br /> Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag could be seen controlling the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. The onset of World War II caused the removal of the man with the red flag and the bridge was eventually closed in 1959.<br /> <br /> In 1961 a four-lane concrete bridge was built to replace the suspension bridge, which is still in use today.