Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Inverness from Castle Hill
EXTERNAL ID
PC_PWG_PHOTO_003
PLACENAME
Inverness
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona
PERIOD
1870s
SOURCE
PFW Grant
ASSET ID
29658
KEYWORDS
postcards
bridges
Inverness from Castle Hill

This photograph of Inverness, as seen from Castle Hill, shows the old Ness Suspension Bridge in the 1870s. Opened in 1855, the bridge had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, on the right of the photograph, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.

Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag could be seen controlling the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. The onset of World War II caused the removal of the man with the red flag. A contract was tendered for a replacement bridge in 1939 although work wasn't to begin for a further 20 years. The 1855 bridge was finally replaced in 1959 by Sir Murdoch MacDonald and Partners' concrete span that we see today

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Inverness from Castle Hill

INVERNESS: Inverness and Bona

1870s

postcards; bridges

PFW Grant

This photograph of Inverness, as seen from Castle Hill, shows the old Ness Suspension Bridge in the 1870s. Opened in 1855, the bridge had a span of 225 feet. At the east end of the bridge, on the right of the photograph, a battlemented archway was built, providing a picturesque entrance to the town. At the west end, two much lower towers were erected.<br /> <br /> Because of the narrow opening of the eastern archway and the increasing volume of traffic crossing the bridge, plans were made to replace the structure. Meanwhile, a speed limit of 10 miles per hour was imposed and a man with a red flag could be seen controlling the traffic, ensuring the bridge was never overloaded. The onset of World War II caused the removal of the man with the red flag. A contract was tendered for a replacement bridge in 1939 although work wasn't to begin for a further 20 years. The 1855 bridge was finally replaced in 1959 by Sir Murdoch MacDonald and Partners' concrete span that we see today