Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Plockton
EXTERNAL ID
QZP40_ADAMS_019
PLACENAME
Plockton
DISTRICT
South West Ross
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
ROSS: Lochalsh
PERIOD
1930s; 1940s
CREATOR
Robert Moyes Adam
SOURCE
Highland Libraries
ASSET ID
31832
KEYWORDS
landscapes
villages, hills
shores
Plockton

This photograph, which appears to have been taken from a vantage point on Creag nan Garadh, shows Plockton village hugging the shoreline of Loch Carron with the mountains of the Applecross peninsula rising up in the distance. The rocky islet in the foreground is called Eilean nan Gamhainn. The deactivated Plockton Lighthouse, located at the entrance to Loch Carron on a small island known as Eilean-a-Chait, is just visible across from the village.

Originally a planned village laid out for the Earl of Seaforth in 1794, Plockton was developed by William Cumming for the next landowner, Sir Hugh Innes, in 1801 to take advantage of the sheltered location off Loch Carron and the thriving herring industry. It also provided homes for tenants cleared from elsewhere on the Lochalsh Estate.

Plockton's picturesque setting sheltered from the prevailing winds, together with the North Atlantic Drift giving it a mild climate, has transformed the once active fishing village into a tourist haven, boosted by several television programmes set in the area.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Plockton

ROSS: Lochalsh

1930s; 1940s

landscapes; villages, hills; shores

Highland Libraries

Highland Libraries - Robert Moyes Adam

This photograph, which appears to have been taken from a vantage point on Creag nan Garadh, shows Plockton village hugging the shoreline of Loch Carron with the mountains of the Applecross peninsula rising up in the distance. The rocky islet in the foreground is called Eilean nan Gamhainn. The deactivated Plockton Lighthouse, located at the entrance to Loch Carron on a small island known as Eilean-a-Chait, is just visible across from the village. <br /> <br /> Originally a planned village laid out for the Earl of Seaforth in 1794, Plockton was developed by William Cumming for the next landowner, Sir Hugh Innes, in 1801 to take advantage of the sheltered location off Loch Carron and the thriving herring industry. It also provided homes for tenants cleared from elsewhere on the Lochalsh Estate. <br /> <br /> Plockton's picturesque setting sheltered from the prevailing winds, together with the North Atlantic Drift giving it a mild climate, has transformed the once active fishing village into a tourist haven, boosted by several television programmes set in the area. <br /> <br />