Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Portree from Scorrybreck, Skye
EXTERNAL ID
QZP40_CARD_2488
PLACENAME
Portree
DISTRICT
Skye
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
INVERNESS: Portree
PERIOD
1930s
CREATOR
J Valentine & Co.
SOURCE
Highland Libraries
ASSET ID
34394
KEYWORDS
village
harbour
hotel
Portree from Scorrybreck, Skye

Portree's picturesque setting is obvious in this postcard, with the harbour in the foreground, the cultivated fields immediately behind and the hills in the background. Several of the more important buildings in the village can be seen in this image, including the Gathering Hall with its row of gabled windows in the centre above Quay Street, with the Free Church behind and Meall House to the right. Constructed c1800 by J Gillespie Graham, Meall House is the oldest surviving building in Portree, and features in Daniell's engraving of 1819, solitary and devoid of trees and shrubs. It was originally used as a jail and court house, latterly as the Tourist office and currently it houses the offices of Feisean nan Gaidheal.

The Apothecary's Tower stands atop the Meall, the wooded peninsula separating the harbour from Bayfield, with Telford's harbour below and the Marine Hotel, demolished in the late 1950s, handily situated at the end of the pier. The other dominant building is the Black Memorial Hall, solid and plain, centrally situated at the top of Quay Brae, opposite the rather more imposing Royal Hotel. On the outskirts of the village, just right of centre, lies the old High School, demolished in the early 1970s to make way for a larger establishment, and on the left, almost hidden in the trees, is Viewfield House, now a Hotel run by the descendant of Sir Harry Macdonald who lived there from 1846.

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Portree from Scorrybreck, Skye

INVERNESS: Portree

1930s

village; harbour; hotel

Highland Libraries

Highland Libraries' Postcard Collection

Portree's picturesque setting is obvious in this postcard, with the harbour in the foreground, the cultivated fields immediately behind and the hills in the background. Several of the more important buildings in the village can be seen in this image, including the Gathering Hall with its row of gabled windows in the centre above Quay Street, with the Free Church behind and Meall House to the right. Constructed c1800 by J Gillespie Graham, Meall House is the oldest surviving building in Portree, and features in Daniell's engraving of 1819, solitary and devoid of trees and shrubs. It was originally used as a jail and court house, latterly as the Tourist office and currently it houses the offices of Feisean nan Gaidheal.<br /> <br /> The Apothecary's Tower stands atop the Meall, the wooded peninsula separating the harbour from Bayfield, with Telford's harbour below and the Marine Hotel, demolished in the late 1950s, handily situated at the end of the pier. The other dominant building is the Black Memorial Hall, solid and plain, centrally situated at the top of Quay Brae, opposite the rather more imposing Royal Hotel. On the outskirts of the village, just right of centre, lies the old High School, demolished in the early 1970s to make way for a larger establishment, and on the left, almost hidden in the trees, is Viewfield House, now a Hotel run by the descendant of Sir Harry Macdonald who lived there from 1846.