Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
Fairburn House and Coul House
EXTERNAL ID
QZP40_U_8131048_P013
PLACENAME
Fairburn House; Coul House
DISTRICT
Muir of Ord
OLD COUNTY/PARISH
ROSS: Contin
PERIOD
1900s
SOURCE
Highland Libraries
ASSET ID
38336
KEYWORDS
houses
clans
estates
buildings
Fairburn House and Coul House

Fairburn House is a 19th-century mansion house, later used as a nursing home. Nearby stand the ruins of Fairburn Tower, a 16th-century tower house owned by the MacKenzies. Fairburn Tower was mentioned in the Brahan Seer's prophecies concerning the downfall of the MacKenzies. The tower was abandoned when the house was built.

Coul House was built in the early 1800s as a shooting lodge for the MacKenzies of Coul. Situated near Contin, it is probably the third building to have stood on the site. It subsequently became a hotel.

This photograph is from the book 'Picturesque Ross-shire, Strathpeffer and Dingwall' published in Dingwall, circa 1900

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

Fairburn House and Coul House

ROSS: Contin

1900s

houses; clans; estates; buildings

Highland Libraries

Fairburn House is a 19th-century mansion house, later used as a nursing home. Nearby stand the ruins of Fairburn Tower, a 16th-century tower house owned by the MacKenzies. Fairburn Tower was mentioned in the Brahan Seer's prophecies concerning the downfall of the MacKenzies. The tower was abandoned when the house was built.<br /> <br /> Coul House was built in the early 1800s as a shooting lodge for the MacKenzies of Coul. Situated near Contin, it is probably the third building to have stood on the site. It subsequently became a hotel.<br /> <br /> This photograph is from the book 'Picturesque Ross-shire, Strathpeffer and Dingwall' published in Dingwall, circa 1900