Please Sign In | Register
Google pluspinterestShare on Stumble UponShare on RedditFacebookShare on Tumblr
TITLE
The steamer Mabel at Talladale pier on Loch Maree
EXTERNAL ID
GAIRLOCHM_131
PLACENAME
Talladale
SOURCE
Gairloch Heritage Museum
ASSET ID
5229
KEYWORDS
boats
ferries
piers
ferry boats
The steamer Mabel at Talladale pier on Loch Maree

The Mabel was built in Seath’s yard at Rutherglen in 1883 and was 45ft long. She was brought to Loch Maree by Mr Hornsby, the owner of the Gairloch and Loch Maree Hotels, but the steamer was taken over by MacBrayne's in 1887. She had a small saloon below the “promenade” deck. Four times a day she sailed the length of the loch, connecting with coaches at each end of it, as well as calling at various points in between. She lasted until about 1911, and apparently her remains were still visible on the shore in front of the Loch Maree Hotel as late as 1937.

Derived from the Gaelic 'Loch Ma'ruibhe', named after Saint Mael Rubha who founded a chapel on Maree Island in the eighth century, Loch Maree is the fourth largest freshwater loch in Scotland, with a length of 20 km and a maximum width of 4 km. Considered to be one of Scotland's most picturesque lochs, the A832 to the west coast passes along its southern bank.

Loch Maree is bordered by Slioch (980 metres) on the northern bank and Beinn Eighe Nature Reserve to the south. Its location in prime hill-walking country means the region is beset by an annual influx of visitors, scrambling to climb the surrounding peaks.


This image may be available to purchase.
For further information about purchasing and prices please email
Gairloch Heritage Museum

For guidance on the use of images and other content, please see the Terms and Conditions page.
High Life Highland is a company limited by guarantee registered in Scotland No. SC407011 and is a registered Scottish charity No. SC042593
Powered by Capture

The steamer Mabel at Talladale pier on Loch Maree

boats; ferries; piers; ferry boats

Gairloch Heritage Museum

Gairloch Heritage Museum, Photograph Collection

The Mabel was built in Seath’s yard at Rutherglen in 1883 and was 45ft long. She was brought to Loch Maree by Mr Hornsby, the owner of the Gairloch and Loch Maree Hotels, but the steamer was taken over by MacBrayne's in 1887. She had a small saloon below the “promenade” deck. Four times a day she sailed the length of the loch, connecting with coaches at each end of it, as well as calling at various points in between. She lasted until about 1911, and apparently her remains were still visible on the shore in front of the Loch Maree Hotel as late as 1937.<br /> <br /> Derived from the Gaelic 'Loch Ma'ruibhe', named after Saint Mael Rubha who founded a chapel on Maree Island in the eighth century, Loch Maree is the fourth largest freshwater loch in Scotland, with a length of 20 km and a maximum width of 4 km. Considered to be one of Scotland's most picturesque lochs, the A832 to the west coast passes along its southern bank. <br /> <br /> Loch Maree is bordered by Slioch (980 metres) on the northern bank and Beinn Eighe Nature Reserve to the south. Its location in prime hill-walking country means the region is beset by an annual influx of visitors, scrambling to climb the surrounding peaks. <br /> <br /> <br /> This image may be available to purchase.<br /> For further information about purchasing and prices please email<br /> <a href="mailto: info@gairlochheritagemuseum.org">Gairloch Heritage Museum</a>